My mama said vague is as vague does

Sometimes I really hate my job. Actually, make that most of the time. While I am grateful to be gainfully employed, such gratitude does not prevent the bonds of my voluntary servitude from chafing.

I spend a lot of time in meetings that I could otherwise spend productively, but that’s the nature of the beast in my profession. What really irks me is my boss’s new habit of oblique work assignment. For example, during a meeting with a client, he will casually say something along the lines of, “Don’t worry, we will take care of such-and-such”. I have learned through bitter experience that when he says WE, he inevitably means that he expects someone else to deal with it – i.e. ME. I think I should name this ‘inverted letter syndrome’ or something. The problem arises with the fact that the “We will..” pseudo instructions can contain many esoteric tasks in my boss’s mind that are not spelled out, so irrespective of whatever is done, it isn’t quite what he wanted.

Even if I confront him and ask him to spell out his expectations in simple terms that even I can understand, he still makes the assumption that certain things are ‘obvious’ and don’t need to be mentioned. Maybe I’m just thick, but I believe ‘obvious’ is a relative term.

Leave a Reply

