Reach out and leave me the hell alone

I just got off the phone after having my ear bent by a l-o-o-o-ng conversation with one of my upcountry colleagues. I really dread getting calls from this guy, because he’s one of those people who ask a question and then tell you why you are wrong before you’ve managed to finish giving your answer. He also has serious separation issues, because once he gets going, you just can’t get him off the line. There’s always, “One more thing”. Aaaaaargh!

I’ve tried all manner of polite excuses to end the calls, but to no avail. “I’ve got to go – the parking lot is flooded and a school of piranha is busy skeletonising the boss!”, simply does not work. “Get to the point, you long-winded old git”, is also a non-starter, because this guy is quite senior in the company and I’m fond of drawing a paycheque at the end of the month.

These pointless conversations are technically work-related, but it’s not like I don’t have actual work to keep me occupied. My in-tray is starting to creak alarmingly. I’d better move my chair to a safer position.

Leave a Reply

