Variations on a theme

A long, long time ago, I can still remember how that music used to make me smile – which is probably just as well, seeing as I used to moonlight as a presenter on a classical music radio station. However, I didn’t just push buttons and randomly stutter into the microphone; I also managed to absorb the occasional dribble of musical knowledge.

For example, in classical music, you often come across a beast called the ‘sonata form’. Now this isn’t something you fill in when you’re applying for a job as a piano teacher – it’s actually “a model for musical analysis, rather than for compositional practice”(1). Fascinating, I know.

Interestingly enough, it turns out it works for comics, too:
Future scholars will thank me

(1). According to the guy who empties the bins in my complex. Wikipedia, too.

16 thoughts on “Variations on a theme

  1. surprisingly? it works for every relationship i’ve ever had as well.

    exposition: meet. decide to screw
    development: screw
    recapitulation: “why am i screwing him?”
    coda: “NEXT!”

    Like

  2. God, it’s like that polymath epithet unleashed the slouching polymathic beast, his chance come at last, slouching towards Table Mountain to be… sorry, that’s Adamastor.

    Like

  3. stephanie: I’m tempted to ask about the first time, but I’ll be strong.
    daisy: A pity Verdi’s dead. He could make that into an entire opera.
    robin: My people are already talking to Justin Timberlake’s agent.
    rob: So would that make you the second movement?
    dolce: Consider it done. LOTS.
    nursemyra: Those who can, do. Those who can’t, draw comics. The squishy side is relatively new. I’m pleased that someone noticed.
    andrew: Yeah, but they’d only be happy for a while.
    rustum: Are you saying I have bad posture?
    peas: As long as it’s in German.
    uncle keith: If it ain’t Baroque, don’t fix it.
    idle layabout: I admit nothing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

