Internal dialogue

Do they speak English in What?
These late night conversations with myself get particularly bizarre around 4 a.m. It’s those endless damned rounds of “what if?” that send me off the rails. If I could just convince the voices to talk quietly among themselves, I could get some sleep. I need a bouncer for my head – figuratively speaking, of course. Hmmm… on the other hand, maybe a cricket ball in the face will do the job too. Worth a try.

It’s difficult to explain, but it’s as if my reality is becoming less coherent as my relevance to her diminishes. It’s kind of reminiscent of the process in Terry Pratchett’s Small Gods. Could it be the same for people? I’m beginning to feel – I don’t know – intangible. Nice paradox there, don’t you think?

22 thoughts on “Internal dialogue

  1. A paradox,
    A most ingenious paradox!
    We’ve quips and quibbles heard in flocks,
    But none to beat this paradox!

    A paradox, a paradox,
    A most ingenious paradox.
    Ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha, ha,
    This paradox.

    Actually, some paradoxes aren’t all that funny. Like this one.

    Like

  2. In your time on land, you just lost your sea legs. Pretty soon you’ll be able to weather the tossing and turning of the life adrift, again. Sorry things didn’t work out.

    Like

  3. “Tis better to have loved and lo……”

    (sounds of a scuffle, a few thumps, a whack or two, muffled screams, and eventual silence)

    “…..but only joy and thankfulness that on a tiny world in the vastness, for a couple of moments in the immensity of time, we were one.”

    There. That’s much better.

    Like

  4. if you were a lady, this would be where you bought a new outfit and completely changed your hair. I’m not sure if that would work for you… In any case, you seem pretty tangible to me, unless I’m imagining this all.

    Like

    • Actually, your idea may still work. The only way for me to completely change my hair is to grow it and that’ll take about 18 months. Then, if I’m still emo, I can comb it across my face.

      Like

Leave a Reply

