The delegation dilemma

and this was my favourite jacket
For the record: I have no problem with delegation. I am, however, exceedingly reluctant to assign important tasks to the brain-dead.

Scene: A cube farm. MINION is sitting at a workstation, picking his nose and examining the results. His finger is headed towards his mouth when KYKNOORD enters, stage left.

KYKNOORD: Have you finished compiling the test results yet?
MINION: Test results? I thought you meant I should draw doodles of unicorns and jerk off under the desk.
KYKNOORD: No, I really do need you to compile the test results.
MINION: Oh. Are you sure?

KYKNOORD’s ulcer and migraine compete for supremacy. They both win.

Curtain

37 thoughts on “The delegation dilemma

  1. Sooo…..apparently……all this time that I’ve been coming to your blog & reading….I have been mispronouncing your name. Gaz finally told me today….it’s “look north”. Not…”jew north”. Baaahahahaha!!! (sorry…afrikaans/english dictionaries are extremely hard to come by in this neck of the woods)

    Like

  2. Delegation is always a bit of a bugger when only morons are available to share the burden. Me, I have a dog I can delegate to and she has never failed me yet.

    Admitted, I do “trim” the tasks a bit: “Bonnie, lie on that rug for me” or “Bonnie – I need this dog food eating as a matter of urgency” that sort of thing, but her competence and enthusiasm are never lacking.

    Like

  3. Look on the bright side: It is getting easier and easier to be a star performer, by contrast, while doing less and less. It’s win/lose, but as long you’re in the win column, what does it matter?

    Like

Leave a Reply

