20 things

Andrea tagged me to post 20 random facts about myself and then tag the same amount of people as minutes it takes me to write the facts. I can type at about 40 words a minute, so you work it out. I’m not much of a clock-watcher. I’ve decided that if you want to do this, consider yourself tagged. If not – you’re off the hook.

  • Ever since I saw the movie ‘Empire Records’, I’ve wanted to own a music store. This was painfully reinforced after I saw ‘High Fidelity’.
  • I lost my virginity to an older woman.
  • I have illegitimate offspring.
  • ‘You look so fine’ by Garbage is my favourite song evah! ‘Everybody knows’ by Leonard Cohen is a close second.
  • I seriously contemplated becoming a priest.
  • I love music more than life itself, but I have never learned to play an instrument.
  • I used to build Coke factories in East Africa for a living.
  • I wear a tie to work every day.
  • I gave up booze in 1992.
  • I am a cat person.
  • Yes, I DID inhale.
  • I haven’t spoken to my sister in more than 8 years.
  • My company sent me for AIDS councelling after I went on a low-fat diet and lost 10kg.
  • I don’t eat red meat.
  • I have had a vasectomy.
  • My daughter is named after a girl I had a crush on at university.
  • I am hopeless with names, but I remember jokes.
  • I curse like a sailor.
  • I have contemplated suicide.
  • One of the above statements is untrue.

9 thoughts on “20 things

  1. I love #20 because it’s the sort of thing that makes me crazy. I almost posted the age I lost my virginity but it was about as dead-average as you could possibly be I figure (17), therefore quite dull. That’s even more interesting than who I lost it to, though… (not an older woman :))And if you liked the movie, make sure you read the book. Though the book was set in London, putting the movie in Chicago (was it?) surprisingly didn’t take away from it. Maybe because John Cusack was so right for the role. (I’m talking about High Fidelity here, not the movie about how I lost my virginity…)

    I like you even better now that I know some of those quirky details.

    Like

  2. Sheesh… after #20 (One isn’t true…) you won’t have to contemplate suicide… I’m gonna kill you… =) (I was just listening to Garbage Version 2.0 a few days ago… excellent CD)

    Like

  3. angel: I’m pretty sure it wasn’t me.

    andrea: Hey, me too (17). So… is the other movie available anywhere?

    Lucy McG: Sorry, couldn’t resist – but you can’t kill me until your underwear arrives in the post, okay?

    Like

  4. You remind me of me a bit. So that means you must obviously be as wonderfully fantastic as me!! (LOL)
    If I had a blog you could read the 20 things about me – buuuut I dont, sooooo you cant.

    Like

  5. Wow.. I see the post I left ages ago! I was speechless then & am now, almost.
    I just watched Empire Records last week, cable TV.
    U R so interesting!

    Smooch,
    The Tart
    ; )

    Like

  6. Must be number 7 isn’t true – surely? Don’t call me Shirley? Hmm High Fidelity is one of my fave books and movies. Love Nick Hornby. Where is the lovely pic of Mr KN? Where, where. Forgive my insane rantings. The keyboard made me do it.

    Like

Leave a comment